Back to Adult Services Staff Picks

 

Coming in April 2021

Gardner, Chris

Permission to Dream

In the spirit of The Last Lecture, The Secret, and The Alchemist, this small book presents BIG ideas for turning your “one day” into today, including the generational transfer of a dream and a powerful blueprint for a masterpiece life.

Book      Large Print      Audio CD       OverDrive EBook         OverDrive Audio

Hoffman, R. J.

Other People’s Children

A riveting debut novel about a couple whose dream of adopting a baby is shattered when the teenage mother reclaims her child.

Book       OverDrive EBook       Overdrive Audio

 Standiford, Natalie

Astrid Sees All

New York’s last bohemia–the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s–is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith.

Book         OverDrive EBook       Overdrive Audio

Johnstone, Carole

Mirrorland

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is a thrilling work of psychological suspense about twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Book        OverDrive EBook         OverDrive Audio

Sweeney, Cynthia D’Aprix

Good Company

A warm, incisive new novel about the enduring bonds of marriage and friendship from Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of the instant New York Times bestseller The Nest

Book       Large Print      Audio        OverDrive EBook        OverDrive Audio

McLain, Paula

When the Stars Go Dark

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife comes an atmospheric novel of intertwined destinies and heart-wrenching suspense: A detective hiding away from the world. A series of disappearances that reach into her past. Can solving them help her heal?

Book      Large Print       Audio       OverDrive EBook        OverDrive Audio

Stone, Sharon

The Beauty of Living Twice

Sharon Stone tells her own story: a journey of healing, love, and purpose.

Book         OverDrive EBook        OverDrive Audio

Babalola, Bolu

Love in Color: Mythical Tales from Around the World, Retold

In her debut collection, internationally acclaimed writer Bolu Babalola retells the most beautiful love stories from history and mythology with incredible new detail and vivacity.

Book        OverDrive EBook        OverDrive Audio

Lawson, Jenny

Broken (in the Best Possible Way)

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Furiously Happy and Let’s Pretend This Never Happened comes a deeply relatable book filled with humor and honesty about depression and anxiety.

Book        Audio        OverDrive EBook         Overdrive AudioBook

Batalion, Judy

The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler’s Ghettos

One of the most important stories of World War II, already optioned by Steven Spielberg for a major motion picture: a spectacular, searing history that brings to light the extraordinary accomplishments of brave Jewish women who became resistance fighters–a group of unknown heroes whose exploits have never been chronicled in full, until now.

Book       Large Print       OverDrive EBook      Overdrive AudioBook