A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov, an “unrepentant aristocrat” is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Beautifully written, enjoyable and elegant. (Adult historical fiction)

Available in the following formats:
Print
Large Print
eBook
Audiobook (CD) (stream/download)

 

 

No Man’s Land by Simon Tolkien
Written by the grandson of J.R.R. Tolkien this historical fiction book tells the story of Adam Raine, who eventually finds himself in the trenches of the Western Front after having already endured the loss of both parents and life in the coal country of England. Written in a style similar to that of classic twentieth century realists, this novel would appeal to fans of Dreiser, Lewis, Remarque, and Dos Passos. (Historical fiction)

Available in the following formats:
Print
eBook

 

 

 

Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women by Kate Moore
Shortly after Marie Curie discovered radium, the element was used in the 1920’s to manufacture “glow-in-the-dark” watch faces. Hundreds of young women flocked to the factories for these elite jobs… until the debilitating side effects manifested themselves. The horrors were only beginning when a girl went to the dentist who extracted a tooth and her jaw bone came out with it. The book documents the girls’ destruction and their fight for justice. (Adult non-fiction)

Available in the following formats:
Print
Large Print
eBook
Audiobook (CD) (Playaway) (stream/download)

 

 

The Alice Network by Kate Quinn
This book tells the tale of a post WWII American looking for a missing loved one in Europe. While dealing with issues of her own, she is aided by a damaged former WWI female spy and her driver. The novel details a WWI resistance group of women who aided the English by uncovering and passing secrets behind and through enemy lines. It dovetails with the American looking, not only for the physical person, but also a way to reconcile what she sees as her past mistakes and shortcomings.
Available in the following formats:
Print
Large Print
eBook
Audiobook (CD) (stream/download)

 

 

Molly and the Cat Cafe by Melissa Daley
An abandoned cat, a single mom with a teenager, recently relocated..one problem after another yet this is a delightful book narrated entirely from the cat’s perspective. (Children’s)

Available in the following formats:
Print
Large Print

 

 

 

 

Sweetbitter by Stepahnie Danler
Tess, a small-town girl of twenty-two, arrives in New York City, ready for her life to begin. She stumbles into a coveted job at a renowned restaurant as a backwaiter (a step below a waiter). Her appetites- for food, wine, knowledge, love and every experience- are awakened. This is a very well written, character-driven book. Tess’s experiences with the employees that she considers her friends and a man (the bartender) she is infatuated with, are raw and honest. Looking forward to the author’s next book. (Adult Fiction)

Available in the following formats:
Print
Large Print
eBook
Audiobook (CD) (stream/download)

 

 

A Higher Call by Adam Makos
I recommend this book because it is a fascinating true story that took place in World War II. A story of chivalry in the air, a German fighter pilot comes across a helpless U.S. bomber but doesn’t fire. The story of the encounter between the American and German pilots, their lives afterward and their meeting years later was hard to put down.

Available in the following formats:
Print
eBook
Audiobook (CD) (MP3) (stream/download)